The website for Maryland’s Department of Labor and Industry Work Permit for Minors page has been updated. Minors can now complete the online application. Please visit the ChildWorkPermit homepage for additional information.
In Maryland, all teens between the ages of 14 and 17, once offered employment, are required to have a Work Permit before beginning work. Teens cannot apply for a Work Permit until they have gotten a job offer, since the application for a Work Permit requires details from the employer, including the proposed occupation and work description.
The Maryland Employment of Minors Law seeks to protect minor children so that their employment experience is not a detriment to their education or safety. Minors are limited in the hours they may work during periods when school is in session. There are specific jobs and occupations that children are not allowed to work because they have been determined to be potentially dangerous for minor employment.
Minors under age 14 cannot be issued permits, with the exception of children working in the entertainment industry. Children working in the entertainment industry are required to have a special permit that is issued directly by the Commissioner of Labor and Industry upon application. This permit must be in the employer’s possession before the minor is permitted to work.
PERMISSIBLE HOURS OF EMPLOYMENT
Minors 14 and 15 years of age may not be employed or permitted to work more than:
(1) 4 hours on any day when school is in session.
(2) 8 hours on any day when school is not in session.
(3) 23 hours in any week when school is in session for five days.
(4) 40 hours in any week when school is not in session.
A minor 14 or 15 years of age may not be employed or permitted to work before 7:00 a.m. or after 8:00 p.m. A minor may be employed or permitted to work until 9:00 p.m. from Memorial Day to Labor Day.
The hours worked by a minor enrolled in a bona fide work-study or student-learner program when school is normally in session may not be counted towards the permissible hours of work prescribed above.
Minors 16 and 17 years of age may spend no more than 12 hours in a combination of school hours and work hours each day. They must also be allowed at least 8 consecutive hours of non-work, non-school time in each 24-hour period.
Minors 14 through 17 years of age may not be employed or permitted to work more than 5 hours continuously without a non-working period of at least ½ hour.
If parents have any concerns, or feel that a child’s work experience is detrimental to them, please contact the Division of Labor and Industry at firstname.lastname@example.org or call (410) 767-2239.
______________For additional information, contact:
Division of Labor and Industry
1100 N. Eutaw St. – Room 606
Baltimore, MD 21201
FAX: (410) 767-2986 www.dllr.state.md.us/labor/wages